Nyarth’s Top 10 Anime Song of Winter 2013

nyarths top 10 anime song of 2013

Now I’ve been listening to a lot of Love Live songs for the past few months, so I haven’t been paying much attention to the OP/EDs this season, if anything Love Live would dominate my entire list hahaha… Sadly they aren’t the right type of anisongs to qualify.


But I had to make a proper Top 10, and so I did. I really liked earthmind’s single “Energy” for Vividred Operation’s OP as it’d always pumped me up at the start of each episode; it gave me energy every time I came back from my shift at work and a new Vividred episode was up. They did a really good job syncing the animation scenes with the pumping music, creating this perfect harmonious synergy that brings out, dare I say, the vividness of the show. It is with these reasons “Energy” deserves the No. 1 spot on my list.

GJ-bu comes in second – despite being my all-around anime of the season. The second and third ending themes in particular because they’re rather catchy and fun-sounding. I instantly fell in love with the Best GJ-bu’s Shion… oh, and her ending theme as well because… well… you know. Kirara’s ending is great and very catchy, but the full version of the song left a weird taste in my mouth. I guess I didn’t like how the song decided to go full tribal with the drums in the instrumental. The OP was good too, despite it’s creepy lyrics, but it was just not as good as the EDs. Suzuko Mimori is confirmed as one of my favourite seiyuus for voicing the best girls this season.

Hyoubu’s (Engrish) OP gets my honourable mention. Despite being overly edgy as fuck that it almost gave me deep wounds and cuts every week, the song is radical and matches very well with the grim-dark and edgy tones the anime expresses. Meanwhile Ore Shura’s OP… even though the song is contaminated with the most generic happy-go-lucky-girly-J-pop you could ever imagine, the song is really, really terrible, that it is terribly, terribly good. I can’t stop listening to this. dame. Make me stop. Dame. Why won’t this end? DAME. Help. D A M E .

Even though Sasami-san turned out to be a serious hell of a train-wreck, the OP is not actually that bad. With ZAQ performing it felt like a throwback to Chu2Koi’s OP. If you haven’t seen ZAQ’s album covers I suggest you to do so. Why is ZAQ is so wacky?

All songs listed below will be entered through to my Overall Anime Song of 2013, which I’ll do at the end of this year. Until we meet again in my Top 10 anime song ranking of Spring 2013.

No YouTube embeds because they’ll probably wouldn’t work in a months time.

1. Vividred Operation OP

“Energy” by earthmind

2. GJ-bu ED2

“balance unbalance ~Hontou no Watashi~” by Suzuko Mimori

3. GJ-bu ED3

“Purely Sky ~Watashi dake no Sora~” by Chika Arakawa

4. Love Live OP

“Bokura wa Ima no Naka de” by μ’s

5. Kotoura-san ED1

“Sonna Koto Ura no Mata Urabanashi Desho?” by Megumi Nakajima

6. Ore Shura OP

“Girlish Lover” by Chinatsu Akasaki, Yukari Tamura, Hisako Kanemoto and Ai Kayano

7. Hyoubu OP (Engrish)

“LAST RESOLUTION (English Version)” by Emblem of THE UNLIMITED

8. Tamako Market ED1

“Neguse” by Aya Suzaki

9. Haganai NEXT OP

“Be My Friend” by Marina Inoue, Kanae Ito, Nozomi Yamamoto, Misato Fukuen, Kana Hanazawa and Yuka Iguchi

10. Sasami-san OP

“Alteration” by ZAQ

For those wondering, here is my Rabu Raibu Top 10 list;

1. soldier game
2. START:DASH!!
3. Kaguya no Shiro de Odoritai
4. Natsuiro Egao de 1, 2, Jump!
5. Yuujou no Change
6. Susume Tomorrow
7. Mermaid Festa Vol. 1
8. Love Marginal
9. Sweet & Sweet Holiday
10. Aishiteru Banzai!

Why is Umi so perfect?

2 thoughts on “Nyarth’s Top 10 Anime Song of Winter 2013

Like, Comment and Subscribe :^)

