Nogizaka Haruka’s “So-Called” Secret

With the second season of Haruka coming in this October with the Fall Anime line up, I thought I might as well pick up this series and watch the 1st season inb4 the 2nd. Like I did with Spice and Wolf, but 7 weeks late. But wow, an Anime series about Anime (and Manga) eh? This I may like. (Especially the above pic =3)

nh-01-01
secret files? =3
yrew
How nostalgic as this reminded me of that Magazine Cover project I did at school several months ago...

Soo… A brief summary of the main plot… This series revolves around Ayase Yuto, another anime character who proclaims themselves as a normal High School student, who apparently finds out about the most deeepest darkest secret of the most popular girl in school, Nogizaka Haruka, turning out to be a hardcore Otaku, after returning a friends Anime magazine to the school library. Yuto promises to keep her secret hidden and from then on the two become close friends and stuff.

This plot vaguely reminds me of Onidere, where the two main characters (Tadashi and Saya) are secretly going out and promises to not let anyone know, as horrifying things await if they do. And if I predict right in future episodes, this plot about covering Haruka’s secret will fade out, as various story arcs from the original light novels will take place. Sue they might mention it or have many situations based upon it, but that’ll be about it.

Moving onto the characters…

Yuto, the main character of the series, is (you may have guessed it) an ordinary high school student attending Hakujou Academy, and is in his second year. So I’m guessing he went through his “freshman” year already…

nh-01-03

r
Shuu~n the non-believer who does not believe there are people watching Anime at 2:40am.
Its Mystery Girl A!!
Its Mystery Girl A!!

He lives with his parents and his sister Ruko (the sloppy lazy drunkard  shown in the opening animation sequence);

sd
How I love to be that Sake bottle.
j
The girl with the blonde hair is currently unknown to me.

But due to Yuto’s parents always out at work and Ruko’s laziness, only Yuto and his sister are usually shown around the house and Yuto shown doing all the house chores.

dfsh
He has also been convicted as a homosexual.
dzfnz
Nobunaga is another fellow Otaku, weird that he's mentioning seiyuus and character designers from a anime voiced by seiyuus based off a series of light novels with a range of characters designed by a character designer. Haha.

Moving onto the main heroine…

Haruka Nogizaka is the main heroine to the story, being ratted out as a die-hard Otaku by Yuto, the two became close friends after that. Being a rich ojou-sama from a wealthy family and yet strangly attractive, she is the most popular girl at Hakujou Academy, heck, she even has her own personal squadron, the Imperial Guards, as nicely shown when Haruka starts avoiding Yūto at all costs which causes others around them to blame Yūto for doing something bad to her, thereby dog piling on him.

nh-01-15

nh-01-16

nh-01-17

nh-01-18

nh-01-19

nh-01-20

nh-01-21

She is also known as by the French nicknames; “Nuit Étoile” (Silver Star of the Night) and “Lumière du Clavier” (Shining Princess on the Piano).

At first when I heard her soft going gentle voice, I had a vague remembrance the seiyuu had voiced several other roles in other Anime. After I Wiki’d about the seiyuu, being Mamiko Noto, I was obviously right, she also voiced Kotomi from Clannad, the loli version of Alicia in the 10th Pokémon Movie, Tiffa from Zero no Tsukaima, Yell from Akikan, the miko shrine maiden Tomoe from Queens Blade, Himegami from Index and many more. Ahh how seiyuus gather Anime in one olace =3

Speaking of seiyuus here’s a list of the main characters (of the first episode) and the seiyuus portraying them;

Cast:
– Nogizaka Haruka (乃木坂 春香) / Noto Mamiko (能登 麻美子)
– Ayase Yuuto (綾瀬 裕人) / Hatano Wataru (羽多野 渉)
– Ayase Ruko (綾瀬 ルコ) / Nabatame Hitomi (生天目 仁美)
– Kamishiro Yukari (上代 由香里) / Matsuki Miyu (松来 未祐)
– Asakura Nobunaga (朝倉 信長) / Takagi Reiko (高木 礼子)
– Nagai (永井) / Miyashita Eiji (宮下 栄治)
– Ogawa (小川) / Oosuka Jun (大須 賀純)
– Takenami (竹浪) / Yasumoto Hiroki (安元 洋貴)
– Librarian (Old person) (司書(老人)) / Mamiya Yasuhiro (間宮 康弘)

You can see the many resemblances from the castings.

Looking in-depth at how Yuto came to learn of Haruka’s secret, it also turns out that Haruka also has a clumsy side to her.

nh-01-11

*bump*

Don't lie =3
Don't lie =3
Panty shot?? =0
Panty shot?? =0
ddd
Haruka crying = moé

The main reason that all this happened was actually Nobunaga, if he hadn’t asked Yuto to return the Anime/Manga magazine back to to library, the whole secret thing between the two wouldn’t have came to be. But wow, libraries in Japan actually has Anime/Manga magazines to borrow…

nh-01-10

nh-01-14

Would’ve been more entertaining if the magazine cover had a reference to other Anime/Mangas out there…haha

nh-01-22

nh-01-23

nh-01-24

nh-01-25

Haruka looking down on Otakus even though she is one is pissing me off so, so, much. >X<

The Opening and Ending sequence are both nice too, a catchy opening song and a alluring ending, a pretty good combo if you ask me.

The OP;

The classic one-off appearance of starring characters of the series and some fast moving Haruka fanservice, naice =3

The ED;

Loli maids FTW!!! Also nice way of starting and ending the scrolling credits from slow to fast back and forth like that.

The first episode is basically starting everything off, introducing the characters and showing how Yuto and Haruka met, and Yuto declaring that he’ll keep Haruka’s secret safe and such. But, the first episode wouldn’t just end without a climax oh no…

OH NO!! Haruka forgot to return her Anime Magazine to the library with one day left due! And just like what happened earlier where a tannoy called for Nobunaga to return his Anime Magazine library, the next day at school will do the same for her! Calling out her name and the name of the over-due “book”! Meaning her cover wil be exposed! This is NOT happy days! So what better for Haruka to do than to call Yuto out at night, sneak into the school, return the magazine and stamp out the register with all the borrowing dates and records.

nh-01-26
Who goes to school in the middle of the night? And aren't there security cameras to trace the whole thing?

nh-01-27

fzba
Yuto you lucky bastard D:

nh-01-29

nh-01-30

xv
Just thought that the dancing human muscle figure from Hayate would be most appropriate for this but-in.
W
Yuto's apparently a weird person.

Returned the book, checked the register, SAFE! But wait! What’s that Meowing sound!? =0

x
Oh its just Ruko's ringtone of a Cat's cry. I SO want that ringtone.

So alls well that ends well, with the return of Haruka’s Anime Magazine and Haruka’s deeepest darkest secret now in the hands of Yuta. A nice first episode introducing the main plot and its main characters. With more and more new characters coming along the way, also knowing more about Haruka’s family and background, this seems like its definitely worth to watch. So in the meantime, I’ll be carrying on watching this series. But the ending of the first episode is somewhat very typical…

nh-01-34

nh-01-35

They now call each other by their given name. Something that lovers do I suppose.

*Yuto X Haruka flag raised*

Well to end this post here’s an obligatory Haruka service pic, ripped off from the sponsors section between the OP and the episode itself and after the ED~

vgxnh
I'm SOO looking forward to when the girl on the left appears.

So until then~

One thought on “Nogizaka Haruka’s “So-Called” Secret

  1. glothelegend August 31, 2009 / 04:41

    You made a typo in the third paragraph. You wrote “sue” but you actually meant to say “sure”. I just thought I’d point out your failures to the world. Let me now talk seriously about what I just read, and title it. In fact, this comment will be like a post about a post:

    Glo the Legend’s Assessment of this Post

    So yea, what a great post. I loved it. It was lengthy, and more in depth then anything my lazy ass allows me to do. I mean, I’m spending more time writing this comment then actually making a post or watching any anime. Why? Because I like to change it up. Bullets (I can’t actually put bullets, so it’s going to be a list)

    1. I always watch anime at 2:40 am
    2. Mamiko Noto is awesome. Ever see Jigoku Shoujo? She has one line each episode and it’s always the same one, but it’s still awesome.
    3. I too hide the fact that I like anime…well actually a lot of people know, but I used to.
    4. Why are they wandering around the school in the middle of the night? I would be watching anime at this hour.
    5. I actually didn’t like this show after the first two episodes. I remember thinking, “This looks dumb.” I went a few weeks without watching it, and then I decided, “I guess I’ll watch episode 3.” I did and realized that this show is awesome.
    6. I can’t wait for the new season to finish so I can marathon it.

    Assessment Conclusion

    All in all, I enjoyed this post. It was a good read, and better than any of the lazy ass posts that I have been writing lately. In fact, I haven’t really watched any anime in the past 2 and a half weeks. Today I watched about 10 episodes of stuff though, and I should have plenty to write about as I get back to watching quality shows like Full Metal Panic, which I have only just started. Also, this is the longest comment I have ever written.

    Nogizaka is a great show and everyone should see it.

Comments are closed.