Heroman – First Impression

Even though I wasn’t really interested in Heroman at first, watching the first episode as one of my To Do list items, I can already see why so many people were quite excited and really looked forward to this series.

Well, here’s my first- First Impression of my first watched anime of Spring Anime 2010, Heroman.

Brief Synopsis

It’s almost 4am in the morning and I am too lazy and tired from all whats happened to me IRL so I’ll just happily troll over to Wiki and snag their brief plot outline of Heroman there. So thar.

Orphaned American boy Joey lives with his grandmother, working at a restaurant in the West Coast city of Center City, while going to school. Upon hearing of a new toy robot called the Heybo, Joey believes that getting one will make his life better, turning him into a hero to protect his friends and family. However, he cannot afford to buy it on his meager salary. His luck changes when he picks up a broken down Heybo abandoned by a school bully. He tries to fix it, naming it Heroman, but does not have any luck in getting it to work. However, when it gets struck by a bolt of lightning, it transforms into a giant robot, just in time to save his friend Lina from impending danger (in the manga adaptation, Lina and her father are attacked by a man possessed by the vengeance-seeking spirits of a Japanese suit of armor and Lina is kidnapped; in the anime adaptation, Lina and her father get into a car accident after their car is struck by lightning and nearly destroyed). Now, Joey and Heroman are Earth’s only defense against the evil insectoid Skrugg aliens, unknowingly summoned to Earth by Joey’s science teacher.

Huh, it also pretty much summarises the first episode, so that’ll be it for the summary/synopsis bit of this post. Thank god…

At first I thought I was watching an old episode of Planetes…lol

Awesomest. Living grandma. Evar!

Lina, the main heroine of the series it seems.

Your average bully that tends to appear in American Cartoons but not so much in Anime… Holy shi- is that GI Joe or that army soldier in Street Fighter?

Yet again, your average broken kneecap’d Mexican friend that looks so like Sakaki-sensei in Zettai Karen Children in his yougin’ days…

DERP.

Bone’s rendition of an ordinary American class, man what bad handwriting skillz…

…however the hawt teacher makes up for it :D

/raepface

Finally scored a lady?

lol Ford Mondeo

Have I seen that midget’s facial expression in some traditional Disney animation movie!??

90% of mothers and grandmothers would find peeping into their son or grandson fapping in their rooms, in this case…

Heroman <3

What are the chances for that happening…

Question; is that just an accessory to slip into his arm or is that conjoined to his body…?

I. AM. TERMINATOR.

NAH JUST KIDDING. IMMA LARGE!

Swear I seen this from some superhero cartoon back when I was a wee shota…

Epic generic hero walkout of a fiery blaze that they aren’t enough bothered to put it out…

My Impression

The episode itself had played out  just as I originally keikaku’d (keikaku means plan…). The series does achieve its multi-cultural theme of American cartoons and Japanese Anime clashing to make this ever-so-fine series (lol everyone which is supposedly American speaking Japanese in AMERICA… and props to Stan Lee for all this to happen), however though the theme and plot… didn’t effectively made an impact on me compared to how the impact of the first season of Hayate no Gotoku! had impaled right through my chest and even came back for some more. Don’t get me wrong if you believe that I don’t like this series, the story is excellent and quite original in my case, but the story… really have no in-differences to any other American comics out there such as Marvel and DC. Set in America, everything starts out in a freak upbringing, all centres around school… sports… cheerleaders…bullies…jocks…those sort of sets of elements that I left a few years ago for Anime. The characters again, really unique and original, but are no different to any other characters in other series, you get my point now I believe. Heroman is a great anime to watch if you’re just looking something to watch or someone who likes both American cartoons and Anime, but there isn’t much significant improvements or differences to other superhero-shonen-mecha cartoon or anime series out there in this wide and wonderful world.

And that concludes my first Spring Anime 2010 first impression.

Note that I won’t be following and posting episodics for a particular anime series this season like I did previously due to pure laziness and too unoriginal (I’ll let RC and co. to take care of that).

2 thoughts on “Heroman – First Impression

  1. Fabrice April 2, 2010 / 09:39

    im not going to watch this unfortunetly..
    Zettaini ariemasen!

    Like

    • Nyarth April 2, 2010 / 09:48

      Aww… Quite sad to hear that. But everyone has their own tastes

      Like

Comments are closed.