C80 Anime Trailers Roundup

In 10 years time we’ll be seeing C100, and what a marvellous sight that will be. But anyways as you may guess already the 80th bi-annual Comic Market at the coveted Tokyo Big Sight kicked off this weekend in Japan, bringing with its obligatory new supply of fresh doujinshi, animu, mango, figures, merchandise, breathtaking cosplay and everything else inbetween the madness. It truly is the idyllic haven for all otaku bros everywhere.

Pic related. IT’S MADDO SCIENTISTO AT C80 LIVING THE DREAM.

SONNUVABITCH.

That aside, looking closely into the industry section of the event is where they are showing off many promotional videos (or trailers if you will), for upcoming anime series this Autumn, Winter and beyond, but mainly Autumn.

And as I speculated before and before and before, the Autumn season just always seems to be the best season of the year for anime, and to be proven right with all the GODLY shows come this Ocktoberfest!

You can see a full catalogue of the trailers here but here I shall be going over the trailers that are of interest for me.

Or for a more reliable choice (and a safe-work version at that) you can go the guy’s channel for all trailers from this Summer’s C80.

Boku wa Tomodachi ga Sukunai

YES. FINALLY. AT LAST. It’s here!!!

Became a huge fan of this series when I discovered this on Seanver’s blog (which, sadly, is no more) which lead to me to read the first batch of chapters of the novel on Baka Tsuki and then the manga up the most recent chapter.

Why I love this series as much as Hayate (currently my favourite OF ALL TIME as you may know derp) is because of the range of characters, and no not because the MC is practically in his club of harem, but their quirky personalities, the setting of the story and of course the theme; the fact that they don’t have much friends, from which I can sort of relate to from my stand point way back in the days.

Also, the original character designs that are perceived by the godly Buriki, who is currently my favourite illustrator and whom I idolise. His original trademark style of character design and colouring makes it obviously clear that it was drawn by him, and especially the face. Which is why I’ve seen many people think the characters from Denpa Onna. But that’s not the case. It simply is that Buriki draws illustrations for both light novels. The authors, are different for their own respective works. Just that the style for both are them are extremely similar. Which draws nicely upon my review of the trailer above.

As you may know Denpa Onna, whose character designs are from Buriki, has already been adapted into an anime back in Spring by Shaft. In most cases, while I say the animation is fine and all it was sort of derpy at times and the quality quite grainy. But overall, they did a good job in maintaining Buriki’s flagship style, in relation to the quality of extent that goes in animation.

Boku wa Tomodachi, however, will be animated by AIC Build. While I’ve been cock-teased with countless anime-illustrations you always get in anime magazines in Japan, I was steadily growing curious about the quality of the animation and how it’ll turn out. Especially with the voice acting when they released the cast list a few months back.

Overall, with the trailer above, although it was painstakingly hard to hear with all the murmuring going in the background I was really happy about the animation quality. There were no signs of derpiness or juttering and the animation felt smooth. Also looking into that close-in shot of Yozora’s eyes, I can see that they really have nailed down Buriki’s trademark eye design.

The voice casting is the next thing I’m excited about:

  • Kana Hanazawa as Kobato Hasegawa
  • Kanae Itou as Sena Kashiwazaki
  • Marina Inoue as Yozora Mikazuki
  • Misato Fukuen as Rika Shiguma
  • Nozomi Yamamoto as Yukimura Kusunoki
  • Ryohei Kimura as Kodaka Hasegawa
  • Yuka Iguchi as Maria Takayama

There could never be a more perfect voice cast than this. Placing KanaHana as the imouto Kobato can never be more perfect with Kobato’s gothic lolita charms, which somewhat can be linked into Kuroneko from Ore no Imouto, who also dresses gothic lolita all the time too and, is voiced by KanaHana (in fact, they referenced this in the manga!). Kanae Itou as Sena was what I didn’t expect, but imagining it now for her with Itou’s voice seems fitting if it’s in the tone of Ohana from Hanasaku Iroha. I sadly expected for Yozora to be voiced by someone on the lines of Youko Hikasa, as I randomly imagined her voice when I read the light novels and the manga. Looking into Yozora’s personality and Hikasa’s past history, the two really would’ve worked well with each other. But, Marina Inoues fine too, in a way. The rest, well I’m that sure since I’m that familiar with them but placing Yuka Iguchi (Index from Raildex) as Maria, the loli nun was the only choice if they wanted a voice actress with a childish yet mature voice…heh

Well I’ve gone on long enough. Boku wa Tomodachi will be on the top of my watch list this coming Autumn!

Shakugan no Shana III FINAL

Much like the final Harry Potter movie that I watched a few weeks ago in the cinema, waving goodbye to my childhood *baww*, watching Shana – as this will be the final Shana anime, will be somewhat of the same experience too. Not in the sense that I grew up with Shana, but in the sense that Shana was what brought me into the anime world, and how I came to watching new seasonal anime as they came out at the same time frame in Japan.

I can remember those glorious days in 2008 when I was marathoning this series from 1st season to 2nd after reccomendations from the Zero no Tsukaima 3rd Season page on CR that the main hero and heroine VAs from ZnT also act out in Shana! And yes I was a streamingfag back then.

Long story short Shana was one of my early starting animes that then made me become a full-on animu-fan that I apparentlly am today. Just after all the .hack and Hayate craze in 2007 and Pokemon waaay before that.

On with the trailer for the final season… At first, sort of unrelated, it made me realise how much I’ve forgotten about this series! From what happened in the first season to the second, all of it! I FORGET!!! Do remember the last time I watched this was in 2008 and last year with the OVAs, but those didn’t really serve any purpose at all.

Of course I still remember the characters Shana and Yuuji and Yoshida and Margery and the creepy talking book, and the antagonist as well like that Hecate and that smoking hipster pimp and that three-eyed hag… wow. I really did forget their names. Seems I’ll be needing to read through summaries on Wikipedia on what happened before to familiarised myself again…

But well, the trailer looks epic and- HOLY WHAT THE FUCK IS THAT YUUJI WITH A HOLY MOTHER FUCKING SWORD AT THE END OF THE TRAILER? AND WOW IS THAT SHANA IN THAT ANCIENT GET-UP? GOD I MISS ALL OF THEM.

………………………..

Well from a YouTube comment reply at the end of the trailer is Yuuji with that new getup and apparently, at some point of the final season *spoileralerthighlighttext* [[will have to face Shana in a showdown due to [place spoiler reason here].]] That’s all he wrote so I have no further details. Which reminds me I still have to read the second light novel volume I got weeks ago (the Viz version).

Yep. I am really looking forward to this season.

Infinite Stratos OVA

Glad to see Infinite Stratos, my favourite show this Winter, returning to my screen after so long! And judging from the trailer above there was some live performance from the cast of the show that happened sometime ago, to be released this October. Great, another thing down on my future watch list. The OVA itself seems to be interesting too as Ichika’s “harem” appears to be visiting his house (casual clothing for the win) or something else.

All hopes that they’ll announce a second season after this!

WORKING!! 2nd Season

Shinryaku!? Ika Musume 2nd Season

Thought I’d save time and review these two trailers at once. The first seasons of Working!! and Ika were a delight to watch with their constant comedy and hilarious antics that made me rofl my copter, then sad when each episode ends each week and demanding moar.

Well my prayers have been answered now that they’ll BOTH be returning this Autumn! Which in some ways could be a bad thing as one of the two might get over shadowed by the other. That happened last summer with Strike Witches 2, which was great in itself, but with all the other funny shows on too like Mitsudomoe and Seitokai Yakuindomo (both the best of the season hands down) I didn’t pay that much homage to Strike Witches, which I loved to bits when I finally watched it another year back in 2009.

Moving on there isn’t much to comment about the trailers, just juxtaposed clips from the first season of their respective shows with added commentary of the main cast. Animation, quality and other meta stuff remain the same though I’ll be looking forward to the OP/ED sequences as they were top-notch in their first seasons.

GUILTY CROWN

No idea what this is about when I saw a certain /a/ thread on 4chan featuring the illustration art, from both anime and original, ME GUSTA – was what I thought. Then I quickly found the source and that’s how I came upon this series. This is an anime original as a reminder meaning the plot will be new to everyone, animated by Production IG and to be part of the noitaminA block. The original character designs appear to be from a doujin artist by the name redjuice and man, his/her art is awesome as fuck. Epic band supercell with Ryo will be doing the music too, dunno if that counts the OP/ED too, but if it does, then superduper!

Kill Me Baby

Because I’m a sucker for 4-koma SOL anime adaptations, Kill Me Baby appears to be continuing on the line of 4-koma mangas from the magazine Manga Time Kirara etc etc to be adapted into the anime. From K-ON! to A-channel, Kill Me Baby is a peculiar one if I can say so myself when I tell the synopsis;

>Kill Me Baby is a 4-panel style manga that follows the comedic life of a typical school girl Yasuna and her assassin classmate Sonya. Sonya’s attempt to fit in often fails when her natural assassin instincts kick in and Yasuna’s attempt to be more friendly with Sonya often gets her hurt or intimidated. Kill Me Baby’s cute sense of humor will keep you wanting more.

>Kill Me Baby is a 4-panel style manga that follows the comedic life of a typical school girl Yasuna and her assassin classmate Sonya.

>the comedic life of a typical school girl Yasuna and her assassin classmate Sonya.

>assassin classmate Sonya

YES. ASSASSINS. Never once really in an anime I’ve seen in my time ever had assassins, excluding Naruto and Bleach and Wan Piss as they’re defaults, but anywhere else assassins seems to be non-existent. Even the title itself; KILL-ME-BABY, what kind of a depressing title is that? It reeks of the word assassins all over derp.

And yes, I’m a sucker for clichés and tropes too. Who isn’t? It’s these types of stuff in a anime that just make you go “ohyou.jpg!” but presented in the theme of the series.

And lastly, all of my money that the assassin by the name of Sonya is just a proclaimed assassin but will not kill anyone throughout the entire series…

2 thoughts on “C80 Anime Trailers Roundup

  1. Fabrice August 20, 2011 / 06:16

    Looking forward to Guilty crown especially, most series in NoitaminA doesn fail. and im sure this will be a hit.

    btw isnt it in 20 years time if its 80 for C100?

    • Nyarth August 29, 2011 / 14:34

      Remember there’s 2 comikets every year. One in Summer and other in Winter :P

Like, Comment and Subscribe :^)

