Spring Anime 2013 First Impressions

spring anime 2013

To think we’re already a quarter way in to 2013. Even though the weather still reminds me of Winter, it’s actually several days into April. And everyone knows that when it comes to April; it’s Spring. And everyone knows that when it comes to a new season, a new flock of anime hits the Japanese broadcasting airwaves.

Anyhow this obligatory post will have me revealing my shitty tastes by giving my first biased impressions on each of them just by staring at a bunch of new anime shows on a chart made by @cowboybibimbop. Let the fun begin.

Hayate no Gotoku! Cuties will be appointed to my most anticipated anime of the season. If you haven’t heard yet, I’ve got a huge hard-on when it comes to anything relating to Hayate. Hayate has been my all-time favourite anime and manga for as long as I can remember and I am excited it’s getting another season, regardless to how shitty Manglobe is handling the adaptation. Will Ruka and A-tan be properly introduced? I can already hear the external laughter coming from Hata-sensei’s apartment and Manglobe studios.

I’ve heard many things on Shingeki no Kyojin. I watched the PV a while ago and I have to say, it’s pretty cool. I’m a sucker when it comes to choir BGMs during intense battle scenes and Titan got me hooked from the get-go in the PV. The brilliant visuals, that jaw-dropping camera angles as Eren grapples on stuff like he’s Spiderman to close in on that giant Titan; I actually had goosebumps. It got me reading several of the beginning chapters of the manga. Holy crap the art was bad, perhaps it gets better as it goes on but from my first impression of the manga the characters looked derpy in every panel and everything looked like a half-assed draft, rather than a completed manuscript. If anything from what I’ve heard about Titan is that it’ll likely fall into the trap SAO fell into last year, such as the monolith of plot holes (WHY COULDN’T THEY JUST BUILT HIGHER WALLS!?!?!?!?). The series just screams of ‘epic’ shonen battles and the concept of the extinction of humanity by unknown lifeforms would pull in any kind of audience.

This Spring season will also be the home to many sequels, including Nyaruko Season 2, Ore no Imouto Season 2, Railgun Season 2 and Hyakka Ryouran Season 2. Did I mention there are lots of Season 2s? Since I’ve watched the first season of all of these, they’ll be the obligatory series on my anime list.

I am looking forward to seeing Video Games: The Anime this Summer, or as other people call it Hyperdimension Neptunia. I’ve never played the games (because Nyarth has no PS3s) but I fell in love with Tsunako’s character designs, and now have a bulging folder on my computer filled with Neptunia pictures and Tsunako’s other works. Despite it’ll be airing next season, Tsunako’s character designs will thankfully be present this season in Date A Live, based off a light novel series where Tsunako is responsible for the illustrations. The plot from what I’ve read feels really Infinite Stratos and Evangelion-like, and the PVs just screams the assumptions I just made. But who knows, excluding the LN readers, this will probably be one of my most anticipated anime of the season. Yes, I’m judging an anime from its character designs, please stop throwing bricks at me (the twin tailed girl with the clock eyes is the best girl -ahem).

Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru (I remembered the entirety of that name I swear) feels Haganai-ish. No friends. Shitty high school life. Meets another girl who’s in the same situation, a harem ensues. I’ve read the manga last year and from what I’ve seen up to chapter 4; it’s really shit. The plot lacks any substance at all, the MC is just as a big retard as Kodoka from Haganai and the heroines name; Yukino Yukinoshita. It must have taken a lot of time and thought to came up with that name. Don’t get me wrong; it could turn out pretty well. Manga adaptations of light novels have always been sub-par; from twisting the plot to generally having bad art. I haven’t read the light novels which will be the true source material, so might be actually good, maybe? But really, has any light novel had a good plot? Nevertheless, I’ll give OreSeishun three episodes before if I want to continue or drop it. It’s not like I’ll give this a 9.5/10 when the Spring season ends.

Before I bore everyone as I waffle on about every single anime on that chart, here’s what I’ll be planning to watch;

  • Date A Live
  • Haiyore! Nyaruko-san W
  • Hayate no Gotoku! Cuties
  • Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko
  • Higurashi no Naku Koro ni Kaku: Outbreak
  • Hyakka Ryouran: Samurai Bride
  • Ore no Imouto ga Konnani Kawaii Wake ga Nai.
  • Photokano
  • Red Data Girl
  • Shingeki no Kyojin
  • Suisei no Gargantia
  • To Aru Kagaku no Railgun S
  • Yahari Ore no Seishun Love Come wa Machigatteiru

Series listed in bold are my top priority, series listed in bold and gold will be my instantaneous watch as it gets released.

Take note that these are my first biased and shitty impressions and I mean no harm in talking shit to an anime that hasn’t been aired yet that could turn out really good.

Oh, and uh… please visit my MAL, I apologise in advance for my shitty method of rating things ;__;

3 thoughts on “Spring Anime 2013 First Impressions

  1. Delta April 6, 2013 / 03:09

    And then Aku no Hana ruined you. Lulz.

Like, Comment and Subscribe :^)

