Nyarth’s Top 14 Moments of 2014

nisekoi_BASEDONODERA

It’s been months since I had the proper time to settle down and write up a blog post about anything. Well, I imply I’m settling down now and it isn’t as if I have a bunch of untouched assignments to complete hue hue hue.

From vanishing planes and ebola to favourite Love Lives and Nature Valley bars, 2014 has been a pleasant year for anime, I can’t say for all because this is the first year I’ve seen less anime than the years before, and most of the ones I followed were ones I found the most interesting to stick with till the end (coughGLASSLIPcough). I was planning to do a ‘12 Days of Anime’ type of posts but I wanted to had done it properly by starting on Christmas day, but then I realise that would overlap new years day which would defeat my intentions of rounding everything off I wanted so say before the new year. So I decided to fight the system and just make a good old fashioned ‘Top XX’ moments of the year.

Below lists the top anime moments that happened to me throughout this year as well as my top 14 list of best and worst anime and songs followed shortly after!

Nyarth’s Top 14 Moments of 2014!

  1. Oreimo 2014 Edition (Saikin, Imouto no Yousu ga Chotto Okashiinda ga)

imocho_TOPLEL

The most ridiculous and hilarious anime of the year – if you take off your morality-goggles. Imocho is the personified metaphor for its staff to give a massive middle finger to all the supporters of Bill 156 and Ishihara. You’re most likely not going to enjoy this show if you’re not into incestuous themes as many experience when it debuted in January, but for others, it’s just another run off the mill sis-con anime where the imouto is after the onii-chan’s dick, but with ghosts and chastity belts. Please don’t take this paragraph out of context.

  1. Tatsuya Shiba can’t lose (Mahouka)

mahouka_THEBEST

Mahouka aired this summer with a lot less fanfare than expected. I wasn’t too attached to this series until a friend dragged me into marathoning it over on Skype, and I have to say I was glad I was able to see it through till the end. Mahouka was bogged down with its extensive jargon of terms and lores and the series had trouble trying to explaining it all to the audience while keeping it interesting, easy to understand and brief so that it doesn’t take up three episodes demonstrating how Onii-sama can make the impossible magically possible. Mahouka is one of those series you have get your head into or otherwise you’ll be out of the loop.

  1. 3 Dimensional Pig Delicious (Knights of Sidonia)

sidonia_HOSHINOBEST

As an advocate for 3DCG to become more prevalent in Japanese animation as well as studying 3D animation, I have to praise Polygon Pictures for doing a marvelous job demonstrating the potential use of CG in anime the right way with Knights of Sidonia. It isn’t perfect, but it’s going in the right direction in terms of visual aesthetics. It may be Attack on Titan in space, but unlike Attack on Titan each episode draws you in with its fascinating plot and leaves you on a cliff-hanging as you anticipate the next episode. The visuals in Knights of Sidonia may get some getting used to, but once you get over that shallow obstacle it’s one hell of a series.

  1. I Love Twintails (Ore, Twintails ni Narimasu)

oretwi_TWINTAILSSUREARETHEBEST

Let’s get this clear, I fucking love twin tails. So an anime about twin tails just couldn’t get any better really. Ore Twi cured my fix for twin tails this year with its ode to tokusatsu superheroes, qt girls but actually a guy (fuck you traps are awesome) and ridiculous plot line. As with any light novel adaptations the plot loses its novelty and wains after the sixth episode as it tries to develop new material. It was a shame how the quality production significantly drops in later episodes to levels of hurr durr art, unfinished colouring and recycled cuts. Ore Twi is one of those anime to enjoy if you’ve got time to kill.

  1. KyoAni didn’t find a way (Chuunibyou Demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren)

chu2koi_GIVEMEMYKISSS

KyoAni were hard at work this year pumping out masterpieces that Jeff Goldblum would be proud of; such as Free! Season 2, Amagi Brilliant Park and everyone’s favourite Chuunibyou Season 2.

Ahahaha, a kiss scene in a Kyoto Animation anime? You’d honestly want that wouldn’t you?

;___;

  1. I want to get off Mr Schoolidolfestival’s Wild Ride (Love Live)

lovelive_LETMEOUT

Love Live! continues to dominate the anime idol scene this year. From its second season cash cow and ear-wrenching songs, to addictive mobile games and Nico x Maki shipping agendas.

Love Live! also made its international debut to the rest of the world in the form of an English version of its money-grabbing pay-to-win mobile game Love Live! School Idol Fesival, where you play as an undefined gendered producer managing the μ’s group to perform for the upcoming School Idol Festival, which comes in the form of a music rhythm and card collecting game. Personally I’ve been playing the English version since it came out in May, and as a fan for music rhythm games it’s great fun for a free mobile game. The surprising thing is that it has no ads anywhere in the game, which does makes sense given the amount of money people are throwing at KLab just so that they can get their super ultra rare cards and to rank high in events to pull a funny meme in their profiles. Half a year on my enjoyment for the game has waned to the point where I should have stopped playing in September. Emphasis on SHOULD HAVE. I suppose it’s now become an addiction or unconscious action of me to load up School Idol Festival every morning so that I get the daily rewards, partake in the biweekly events to earn special Super Rare cards for my idol units. I’m trying my hardest to prevent this game from taking over my life.

  1. Thank you based Yuasa (Ping Pong The Animation)

pingpong_WHYAMISOCOOL

Call me an animation hipster, but Ping Pong is one of the best anime to come out this year. Directed by the legen-dary Masaaki Yuasa, it tells the unrelenting tale of a group of table tennis players from primary to high school how ping pong balls significantly shaped their lives. The art style is not the prettiest and most of the time the art may feel pretty jarring, but it gets you to look past the character’s external aesthetics and to look at their personality and traits that is the next tangible medium to define them as people. It’s not about the sport that revolves around the series but the portrayed lives of each of the characters and the trials and tribulations they face. You don’t have to be a fan of the sport at all, I’m not a ping pong buff myself but most definitely Ping Pong managed to make me a little more interested in the sport.

  1. TIIIIIITAAAAAAAAANIIIIIIIIIUMMMMMMMMM (Akuma no Riddle)

riddle_THESEXIEST

Describing Akuma no Riddle as a battle royale anime about assassins is like describing a cheeseburger as a burger with a slice of cheese; but the cheese doesn’t exist. Don’t get me wrong, Akuma no Riddle was an entertaining anime with strong, independent female characters as well as a thrilling plot. But hell, Akuma no Riddle has one of the most devastating arse-pull endings of all time. Never has one of the strongest metals could trigger me into PTSD-like flashbacks.

  1. SLAINE DID NOTHING WRONG (Aldnoah Zero)

aldnoahzero_SLAIIIN

SLAAAAAIIIIIIIIIINNNNNNEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Super hyped for the second season next year!

  1. Gl.ARSE.lip (Glasslip)

glsslip_TOOMUCHSWAG

Glasslip is by far the worst anime I have seen this year, and definitely one of the worst anime I’ve seen ever. Kanojo Flag got really close, but the deal breaker was Glasslip didn’t have any traps. But because it’s so horribly bad, so bad it became good because of it to watch over the summer and not because as a way of procrastinating from uni work. Another reason was because I had this little glimmer of hope that Glasslip might turn it around and make out to be quite a decent show by the end, but as we all it didn’t.

Even though Glasslip was trash, the visuals and production quality were spectacular as expected of P.A. Works and the opening song by ChouCho sounds so comfy I almost fall into a coma every time I listen. However, it’s purely the half arsed directing, the boring character interaction that made watching paint dry on a wall Anime of the Year, and the lack of direction of the story that drove the series downhill. P.A. Works have an extensive history of making visually appealing anime, but almost all of them have unfulfilling plots. Will 2015 be P.A. Works’ year? Emmmmmmehhh…

  1. LRIG! It’s GIRL spelled backwards!!! (selector infected WIXOSS)

wixoss_ITKEEPSHAPPENING

Selector Infected Wixoss didn’t shock me because it shoehorned in a stupid plot twist in the final moments of the first season that would give way to a sequel; but the fact that a certain someone pointed it out to me on Twitter that the word ‘LRIG’, was in fact ‘GIRL’ spelled backwards! Something so rudimentarily obvious succeeded in making me paralysed in astonishment for weeks the simplest mention of palindromes or words spelling different words backwards is now able to trigger me into a Tumblr-like-PTSD state. I never got to finish off the second season sadly but the first was underlyingly thrilling in a number of ways. Mari Okada, who was in-charge of making the characters suffer in psychological pain managed to pull off a very engaging plot in a show that really was just to advertise the Wixoss card game.

  1. Onoderaaaaa (●´□`)(●´□`)(●´□`) (Nisekoi)

nisekoi_ONODERA

At last! The manga which I had been following ever since it debuted finally got itself an anime! Before the anime began I was already quite infatuated with the character Kosaki Onodera, who is such a kind, loving and caring sweetheart thatjustwa nttotakeherho meandpetherandgi vehercutefrill yclothe sandfeedh erjapa nesesn acksdjak dnskfnegjk  nrthot iu3qr hqj kle/;rlg k56[opi8 7 9o’p;u9 0p]@?_{?_?@  _{9 0p ’.0;9 p/8o^%Y  ^T%$^&^ &*%&£–”—– – – … hm, anyway.

Normally whenever I watch anime I tend to take screenshots; as a way to archive moments for all the anime I’m keeping up with to look back on in the future. Things changed over the 20 weeks of Nisekoi’s broadcast when I unapologetically tormented my Twitter follower’s timelines with endless screenshots of nothing but Onodera. You would probably want to punch my face if you somehow wound up watching Nisekoi with me because I would constantly pause the episode just so that I could get the perfect snapshot of Onodera. My F5-pressing screen-shooting skills were put to the test with the 16th episode; as the episode was chock full of Onodera containing an average rate of 115 screenshots per cut. Miraculously Twitter didn’t jail me after tweeting nearly 200 screenshots over the course of two hours in April. I probably lost dozens of followers over the 20 weeks and many probably have muted/blocked me since. Though regardless, I’d do anything for my waifu <3

It’s only the beginning since the second season comes out this Spring!

  1. Takahiro Saves Christmas (Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru)

yuyuyu_SLICEOFLIFE

Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru is without a doubt the dark horse of the year. A dark horse indeed that it came out second in my top 14 moments out of the year! I wasn’t planning on watching this when the Autumn season started but after a surge of tweets about the anime towards the end of the year I decided to marathon it through to see what it was all about. Believe me, if you’ve seen Puella Magi Madoka MagicaYuuki Yuuna is like the Adobe Photoshop to Madoka’s MS Paint. I can’t really say anything more without spoiling but after finishing it I really regret not watching it as it came out weekly and following the community’s reactions. It may be a strong-hearted slice-of-life healing anime, but it’s one that’ll make you appreciate your time alive.

  1. Summer of Ass (Rail Wars)

railwars_DATCABOOSE

Summer was a strange season for anime this year because I noticed the sheer amount of butts appearing on the screens. Hence, the reasoning behind my post in August. Rail Wars was the worse offender as an anime about trains, featured so much Caboose action that I now have an extensive library of images of butts on my hard drive. And, more importantly, I’m now an ass man. The second season of Sword Art Online joined in on the fun with the Gun Gale Online arc as the director just couldn’t stop focusing on Sinon’s ass for one second. Ass is truly hometown.


Nyarth’s Top 14 Anime of 2014

  1. Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru
  2. Nisekoi
  3. Aldnoah.Zero
  4. Gekkan Shoujo Nozaki-kun
  5. Sabagebu!
  6. Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka?
  7. Amagi Brilliant Park
  8. Ping Pong The Animation
  9. Space Dandy
  10. No Game No Life
  11. Akuma no Riddle
  12. Rail Wars!
  13. Hitsugi no Chaika
  14. Black Bullet

Nyarth’s Worst 14 Anime of 2014

  1. Glasslip
  2. Saikin, Imouto no Yousu ga Chotto Okashiinda ga.
  3. Ryuugajou Nanana no Maizoukin
  4. Kanojo ga Flag wo Oraretara
  5. Mahou Sensou
  6. Captain Earth
  7. Pupa
  8. Seirei Tsukai no Blade Dance
  9. Date A Live II
  10. Sora no Method
  11. Nourin
  12. JinseI
  13. Mangaka-san
  14. Girlfriend (Kari)

Nyarth’s Top 14 Anime Songs of 2014

  1. SAO II ED 2
  2. Yuuki Yuuna wa Yuusha de Aru Insert Song – Inori no Uta
  3. Idolmaster Movie Main Theme Song
  4. No Game No Life OP
  5. Love Live 2 ED
  6. Nozaki kun OP
  7. Glasslip OP
  8. SAO II OP 2
  9. Hanayamata OP
  10. Gochuumon wa Usagi Desu ka? OP
  11. Sakura Trick OP
  12. Space Dandy OP
  13. Rail Wars ED
  14. Akuma no Riddle OP

 

Like, Comment and Subscribe :^)

